Google AdSense Program Review
Google AdSense, Google's advertising program that lets webmasters display ads
from Google's extensive list of advertisers, has taken the Internet
by storm. Through this successful program, unobtrusive text-based
ads are served in member sites, who then earn a commission every
time someone clicks on the advertisers' links.
At this point in time, the jury is still out on whether this program
will continue to enjoy its initial success. That is why, through
this article, we want to give you some highlights and insights on
how the Google Adsense program has worked for us, one month after
we signed up for it, so that we can use it as a checkpoint for future
analysis.
Why is Google AdSense so Popular?
Google AdSense uses Google's proprietary PageRank™ search technology
to deliver ads that are highly relevant to the content of a page.
Since Google assigns a PageRank™ only to pages listed in its index,
the page must first be listed in Google before relevant ads can
be displayed (if the page is not in the Google index, Google will
display public service ads, for which no commissions will be accrued).
Running Google AdSense is simple and straightforward: Google gives
you a snippet of HTML code that you can paste in the desired location
on your page, and the ads start appearing immediately after you
upload the changes to your server.
However, Google AdSense's main claim to fame is that, by displaying
text-based ads, it is able to deliver much higher click-through
rates than traditional graphic banner ads. As usability studies
have widely shown, users are already conditioned to ignore banner
ads (or anything else that looks like them). As a result, banner
ad click-through rates have dropped below a dismal 0.5% (in other
words, it takes 200 page views, on average, to get someone to click
on a banner ad).
By using text based ads instead of graphic banners, Google has been
able to overcome banner ad blindness, delivering click-through rates
that are much higher than the industry's average (some put the figure
around the 1.5% mark). Our own experience after one month of running
the program, shows a click-through rate of 1.2%, which certainly
beats the 0.5% of banner ads.
How much can you expect to earn by running Google Ads on
your site?
The pay-off per click varies widely depending on what each advertiser
decides to offer, based on the profitability of their products and
their expected conversion rate (percentage of clicks that deliver
a sale). Google is not saying what the average pay-off is, but our
own experience after one month of running the program shows an average
pay-off of $0.63 per click. We have seen clicks paying as little
as $0.02 and as much as $3.00.
So, just for the sake of giving an example, lets say that your site
receives 1,000 page views per day. If the 1.2% click-through rate
and $0.63 pay-off per click that we have observed on our site hold
true for your site as well, in a 30-day month you can expect to
make:
1,000 x 30 x 1.2% x $0.63 = $226.80
Not enough to get rich, but a nice extra income nevertheless, that
you can use to pay for your domain name and hosting costs, and then
some.
Will Google's AdSense continue to be successful?
This is the big question, and nobody has a definite answer yet.
On the downside:
- The program will most likely face strong competition from other search engines
in the near future.
- The proliferation of text based ads could make users "text-ad
blind" the same way as they have already become "banner-ad blind",
causing click-through rates to drop.
- There is always the potential for abuse, since some
unscrupulous program members may violate the program's rules and
click on their own ads, inflating the advertisers' click-through
rate and forcing them to decrease their pay-off per click.
On the positive side, I believe that Google AdSense's success is not only due
to the fact that they deliver text based ads instead of banners,
but because those ads are served by Google. The credibility and
brand equity that Google enjoys is huge, and I expect them to continue
to beat other search engines and advertising networks that may eventually
jump on the bandwagon.
However, it is reasonable to expect at least a slight decrease in
click-through rates and pay-off as a result of the increased competition.
We will continue to monitor Google AdSense's results on our
site very closely, and will bring you fresh new insights in a few
weeks or months so that you can better understand the evolution of
this successful text-based online advertising program.
| About the author |
| Mario
Sanchez is a Miami based freelance writer who focuses on Internet
marketing and web design topics. He publishes The Internet
Digest (http://www.theinternetdigest.net/), a growing collection of web design and Internet marketing
articles, tips and resources. You can freely reprint his
weekly articles in your website, ezine, or ebook. |
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